Share & Earn


What are the different food groups? A simple explanation.

0 2 years ago

Seven food groups

According to the South African food-based dietary guidelines (SAFBDGs 2012) there are seven food groups that can be eaten regularly. An adequate diet is one that includes a variety of these food groups in moderation.

The seven food groups are:

  1. Starchy foods
  2. Vegetables and fruits
  3. Dry beans, peas, lentils and soya
  4. Chicken, fish, meat and eggs
  5. Milk and dairy products
  6. Fats and oil, and
  7. Water.

Starchy foods

These are our main source of carbohydrates. They have an important role in a healthy diet when eaten in moderation – carb counting can help for those with diabetes, particularly Type 1 diabetes. (Here’s the difference between Type 1 and Type 2.) They are a good source of energy and the main source of a range of nutrients – but it’s important to eat them in moderation if you’re living with diabetes. Many people find a low carb diet helpful for managing diabetes. Besides starch, carbs also contain fibre, calcium, iron and B vitamins.


  • Pap
  • Samp
  • Brown rice
  • Potatoes
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Whole wheat pasta

Vegetables and fruits

Try to eat at least 5 portions of fruits and vegetables a day. People with diabetes should choose green, leafy vegetables (rather than starchy options) and lower carb fruits (berries, plums, apricots). Vegetables and fruit contain lots of vitamins and minerals that can help prevent diseases and they are also packed with fibre which can help lower cholesterol and helps digestion.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *